Read A Day at the Farm by Séverine Cordier Cynthia Lacroix Online

a-day-at-the-farm

The family that readers met and adored in Picture My Day and Picture My World is off to spend a day at a farm. From collecting fresh eggs to milking a cow and picnicking under an apple tree, from tasting sweet honey to petting a donkey and riding in a tractor, these three siblings — and readers along with them — will encounter many of the chores and pleasures of daily lifeThe family that readers met and adored in Picture My Day and Picture My World is off to spend a day at a farm. From collecting fresh eggs to milking a cow and picnicking under an apple tree, from tasting sweet honey to petting a donkey and riding in a tractor, these three siblings — and readers along with them — will encounter many of the chores and pleasures of daily life on a farm. As the inquisitive siblings are introduced to the farm’s animals, plants, and buildings, young readers will learn new words for familiar objects. The illustrations are bright and clear, with just enough detail to entice preschoolers to linger on each page. The accompanying text ranges from simple labels to short sentences. And with lots of affectionate moments between family members on display, children and parents alike will delight in poring over the pages of this picture book....

Title : A Day at the Farm
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9781926973760
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 48 Pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

A Day at the Farm Reviews

  • Katie Fitzgerald
    2019-04-24 13:57

    Three kids and their parents spend a day at a farm in this Richard Scarry-esque word book for preschoolers.The pictures are the most important part of this book, as there are few words and the words that are provided are meant to label specific images. Some larger pictures depict entire farm scenes in which the children participate, such as ‘playing with the chickens” or “milking the cow.” Other pages illustrate vocabulary words such as pitchfork, orchard, and manure. Though there are just a few lines of dialogue, the kids’ faces reveal their personalities and reactions to their farming activities. There is also a loose plot for kids to follow from page to page, and like wordless picture books, it provides kids with the opportunity to describe their own version of what is happening on the page.A book like this wouldn’t do very well at story time because it really requires a child to engage with it individually. I might consider having it on hand for parents to look at with their kids before or after story time, or in situations where I’m expecting a very small group, but otherwise, it’s the kind of book that should be shared with a child on a lap, or even that the child should be free to explore on his own.Farm books will never go out of style, and this one is a bit different because it focuses on something more than animal sounds. Readers who enjoy I Spy books and Richard Scarry Word Books will enjoy poring over these pages, possibly even after they learn to read independently. Similar titles to this book include Farm by Elisha Cooper and many of Emily Arnold McCully’s picture books about mice, such as Picnic.

  • Barbara
    2019-05-20 13:43

    Three adorable children visit a farm and learn all about what farmers do. They pet bunnies, milk cows, pick fruit, avoid manure, and ride in a tractor. The pages are filled with vivid colored illustrations along with clear depictions of the items associated with farming. Since each item is clearly labeled, this title serves as an excellent way to add to readers' vocabulary and help them recognize words. For instance, the illustrations of the rake and the plow are large enough so that readers might feel that they are in the fields with the children. A couple of amusing illustrations show the children barely avoiding manure and disliking the smell of the pigpen.